Documents can be shared as Co-Edit with Client, giving the client edit access to the document while also allowing team members to work on the document at the same time.
This could be used, for example for an Annual Checklist that the client can fill in and enter any questions. There is no need for the client to email the document back to practice. While the document is in Co-Edit with Client, the document is held in your client's Collaborate site so you have access to see any changes the client has made.
Once Collaborate has been set up there is no additional setup or preparation needed for Co-Edit with Client.
- You can only use Co-Edit with Client for an Office document (Word, Excel spreadsheet or Presentation). These documents cannot be sent as PDFs.
- Documents are shared in the same way as when sending the document as read-only using the Share button (refer to Sharing Documents with Clients). The only difference is that when you share the document, you select Include as PDF as "Off" and then set the additional option of Co-Edit with Client to "On". This gives the client access to edit the Office document. Refer to Co-Editing a Document with a Client.
If Co-Edit with Client is "Off" the original Office document is sent, not converted to PDF, but it will be read-only and the client will not have access to edit it.
- For Automations, when creating an Email as a process step, if the email is set to be sent by Collaborate and not included as a PDF, you can set the Co-Edit with Client to "On" to send the document via the process so the client can edit it. Refer to Automation Process Steps and Process Step Details - Creating Documents and Tasks.
If you will be sharing documents that the client can edit, we recommend that you also set up a standard email that you can send out to a client with information about how they can use it. This could also indicate points to the client such as the following:
- When opening the document for editing, the document will be opened using Office Online (via the browser). There is no need to save the file as it is being automatically saved.
- The practice can also update the document, so to ensure the client is always accessing the latest version they should not save the document locally.
- There is no need to save the document locally and email it back as the practice has access to the most recent update the client has made.