You can delete an email from any list in FYI.
This article contains the following sections:
- Deleting Documents
- Displaying and Recovering Deleted Emails
- Recovering Deleted Documents
- Deleting an Email in FYI from Outlook
If an email has been auto-filed and is in your In Tray, it can be deleted from your In Tray if you do not want to make it available for the entire practice.
- Click on the email to select it in the list (or in your In Tray, if it has not already been filed).
- Click the Delete button in the tool bar.
- Confirm the delete.
For a single email, you can also right-click and select Delete from the tool bar pop-up menu (refer to Using the Document Action Tool Bar).
You can also select multiple emails in a list and delete more than one at a time (refer to Selecting Documents in a List in Using the Documents Lists).
If you have deleted the email from your Inbox, it will not be available unless it is still in your Deleted folder in Outlook.
An FYI Admin can also use Bulk Update to delete multiple emails. Refer to Bulk Update.
Displaying and Recovering Deleted Emails
The delete function in FYI is a 'soft delete'. You can display a list of documents that have been deleted by selecting the Deleted view in the Documents list.
You can recover an email if you have deleted it from FYI by mistake. This lets you delete unwanted emails, but they are not permanently removed until someone with authority has confirmed it.
Permanently deleting an email is restricted to FYI Admins only.
Note: The Activity section in an email displays the name of the user who deleted an email. Currently, this cannot be displayed as a column in the lists. The "Modified by" column in lists shows the name of the user who last modified the email, not the name of the user who deleted if had not also modified it.
To display and recover a deleted email in FYI:
Go to Documents.
In the drop-down list of views, select Deleted. The list displays all the documents that have been deleted.
Note: Any documents deleted from the In Tray are not viewable to anyone apart from the original recipient and FYI Admins.
The Deleted Documents list displays as follows.
Note: Any unfiled documents that are deleted from your In Tray are not shown as deleted documents. Due to privacy considerations, they are hidden from view. If they need to be recovered, please contact the FYI Support Team at email@example.com.
Note: The Activity section in a document displays the name of the user who deleted a document. Currently, this cannot be displayed as a column in the lists. The "Modified by" column shows the name of the user who last modified the document, not the name of the user who deleted if they had not also modified it.
Recovering Deleted Documents
The delete function is a 'soft delete'. You can recover a document if you have deleted it from FYI by mistake. Permanently deleting a document is restricted to FYI Admins only. This lets you delete unwanted documents, but they are not permanently removed until someone with authority has confirmed it.
To recover a deleted document:
- Go to Documents.
- In the drop-down list of views, select the Deleted view.
- The list displays all the relevant documents that have been deleted.
- Select the document you want to recover and click Restore.
- Refresh the page. Click the Refresh button which is at the end of the column headings, on the right-hand side of a list.
- Change the view back to another list, such as Recent to see the recovered document.
Note: If you are an FYI Admin you will have access to the Permanently Delete function in this view. Once a document has been permanently deleted it cannot be restored.
Deleting an Email in FYI from Outlook
You can also delete an email in FYI from Outlook.
- Display the relevant email and display the FYI Drawer.
- Click the Delete button in the FYI Drawer (the red bin icon).
This is the same as deleting it directly in FYI.
Note: If the email has been sent to multiple users, and one of them deletes it in Outlook by clicking the red bin icon, the email is deleted for all the users associated with the email. This is the same as when one of the users files or saves the email as the email will show as filed for all the users.