For all Office documents, a new version is created within the FYI drawer when a user clicks I am finished editing. This gives visibility to all versions and allows you to restore earlier versions of the document within FYI.
Also, if you are making major changes to a document saved to FYI, you may want to create a new version. This will allow other users to go back to the original when required. This function is available for Word, Excel and PowerPoint documents.
- In FYI, in one of the lists, click to select the Word, PowerPoint or Excel document.
- In the Drawer, expand the Versions section.
- Click the button with the ellipsis (...) next to the relevant version. A pop-up menu displays with the options.
If you have selected the current (or only) version this displays Read or Save as new version.
If you have selected a previous version of the document, you can select Set as Current, Read or Delete (to delete the selected version).
- Select the action you want to make.
When deleting a version, you are prompted to confirm the delete.
Each version will be listed and accessible by other users.
There is no limit on the number of versions that can be held in a document in FYI.
Note: If a prior version is deleted, this is not recoverable from the view of deleted documents.
If you needed to retrieve a version that had been deleted, you would need to contact the FYI Support Team at email@example.com to arrange for it to be retrieved.