Data Integrity and Backup
Backups are included within the application, as part of the subscription. Your data is being dynamically backed up by Amazon (AWS) as part of their core service.
The entire platform is hosted in Australia and as part of the AWS platform, they provide inbuilt, offsite backups, disaster recovery, multiple sites synchronisation across more than two sites, including a Recovery Point Objective (RPO) of 30 minutes meaning in an absolute worst case scenario, only 30 minutes worth of data could be lost.
Further information can be found on the Amazon Web Services website: Data protection in Amazon S3.
FYI also includes a number of features in order to protect your practice from inadvertent data loss, these include:
- Automatic Versioning - Each time a document is edited and checked back in, FYI automatically creates a new version. This means if critical data is lost inadvertently the older version can be restored. Refer to Version History and Creating a New Document Version.
- Delete Restriction - FYI document deletion is set up so that only FYI administrators can permanently delete emails and documents. This means that if a document is inadvertently deleted, it can always be restored. Refer also to Deleting Documents and Recovering Deleted Documents and Deleting Emails and Recovering Deleted Emails.
Your FYI administrator can also export all documents on demand into a well-ordered windows hierarchy if required. Refer to Bulk Export OneDrive.
Note: If you are part of the Beta release for Bulk Export AWS S3, you can also export to a designated AWS S3 directory. Refer to Bulk Export - Beta (this help article is only available to Beta sites).
You can request that FYI performs a nightly backup for your practice. This will automatically run the Export for you and backup all documents that are filed in FYI and that have a last modified date in the last two months (that is, they have been created or edited in FYI in the last two months). The backup will continue to extend beyond the two months so documents that have been backed up are kept and we do not remove or supersede the earlier items. Refer to Nightly Backup.