New emails are intelligently auto-filed based on a combination of the conversation thread, template defaults, client default or user defaults.
The settings in the Email AutoFile control how the automatic filing of email from Outlook is managed. The Exclusions also allows your practice to block emails that are sent from specific email addresses or domains from being filed automatically.
These settings can only be managed by an FYI administrator, or a user who belongs to a User Group that has been given access to Administer Automation.
Editing the Email AutoFile
- From FYI, click the Automation menu option.
- Go to the Apps tab.
- In Email AutoFile, click the cog icon to edit this.
There are two tabs, Settings and Exclusion.
Email AutoFile - Settings
To change any settings, click the relevant switch to "On" or "Off".
Emails from all users Outlook inboxes are automatically filed into FYI.
If this is switched to "Off", no emails are auto-filed and no other options are available for selection in the Email AutoFile settings.
Exclude internal emails
Excludes any emails from auto-filing that have been sent from your internal team. This uses the email addresses that are recorded in FYI Users.
Maintain thread filing state
When Maintain thread filing state is set "On", once one email in a thread is filed, all other emails in that thread (those that are received/sent before or after the current email) are filed with the same filing details. If one of the emails in the thread is removed, they are all removed.
Note: When Maintain thread filing state is set "On", when an email from an existing thread is filed automatically, it will not appear in the In Tray of any recipient.
Note: When Maintain thread filing state is set "On", any email that is part of a thread will pick up the filing details of the original email.
It is recommended to set this to "On". Making a change to this setting will apply it from the time it is turned on/off and it does not back date changes.
The following settings are only available if Email Auto-Filing is set "On".
Exclude non-client emails
Excludes any emails from auto-filing that have not been sent from FYI clients. This uses the email addresses that are recorded in the Client contact details.
AutoFile else In Tray/In Tray review
There are two options for In Tray Review:
- AutoFile else In Tray
- In Tray Review
Only one of these can be set on:
- If AutoFile else In Tray is "On", In tray review is "Off".
- If In tray review is "On", AutoFile else In Tray is "Off",
The review of any emails in the In Tray can be completed via Outlook or via the FYI Home - In Tray.
AutoFile else In Tray
When AutoFile else In Tray is set "On", emails are auto-filed where possible. But if any condition for filing is not met, the email is moved to the user's In Tray. For example, this could be if:
- Neither the User or Client has defaults set for the AutoFile.
- Where AutoFile defaults are set for the User or Client but not provided for a category that is re set as "Required".
- The Client is not detected.
Note: Autofile else In tray is used as an extra precaution to ensure emails are sent to the In Tray for the above conditions.
In tray review
When In tray review is set "On", this allows each user to review all auto-filed emails before they are shared with the entire practice. This allows the user to review both emails that have all the filing details automatically provided from defaults as well as those that need additional selections such as for Client/Cabinet/Categories.
Note: User can override this if needed using the AutoFile mode in their Settings > Profile (refer to Setting Defaults and AutoFile Defaults for your Own Login - My Settings). This could be used, for example, if emails for your practice are auto-filed (without going to the users' In Tray for review) but partners wish to always review their emails from their In Tray before making them available practice wide.
In-tray review multiple clients
This option is only relevant if you have either AutoFile else In Tray or In Tray Review switched "On".
When In tray review multiple clients is switched "On", if an email is received where the email address is shared by more than one client, and none have been nominated as Include in AutoFile, the email is marked as Multi-Client. In the In Tray, when filing the email, a list of the clients who hold that email address displays in the drawer so you can select which client to file it under. Refer to Managing your In Tray.
Refer also to Setting Filing Defaults for a Client and Nominating the Primary Client to Include in AutoFile.
Save Attachments Separately
Save Attachments Separately setting is only applicable to incoming emails. Refer also to Filing Email Attachments and Filing Email Attachments - Non Default Configurations.
- When Save Attachments Separately is set "Off" this applies to all users.
- When Save Attachments Separately is set "On", users can change this in their own user settings by setting AutoFile Email Attachments to "Off" to override the practice setting (refer to Setting Defaults and AutoFile Defaults for your Own Login - My Settings).
Save Attachments Separately "On"
When Save Attachments Separately is set to "On", attachments in incoming emails are saved as separate documents. Attachments are saved using the same configuration as the email (such as the Cabinet and Categories) that is being applied to the email.
Only genuine attachments are filed, and any attachments for images such as a .jpg, .png for a logo or signature or for disclaimers are ignored. When a reply is sent to an email, this may attach such images as full attachments and, in this case, these attached images should be deleted from the email chain to stop the auto-filing.
- When Save Attachments Separately is set to "On" and In Tray review set to "On" (or AutoFile Else is set to "On" and the email cannot be auto-filed) both the incoming email and the attachments show in the In Tray and can be filed separately. Attachments can be filed either before of after the email is filed from the Attachments section in the drawer of the email.
- When Save Attachments Separately is set to "On" and In Tray review set to "Off" (or AutoFile Else is set to "On" and the email can be auto-filed), both the incoming email and the attachments are auto-filed with the attachments as separate documents.
In the filed email, the attachments that have been saved separately can be accessed from the Attachments section in the drawer of the email.
In the filed attachment document(s), the relevant email can be accessed from the top section of the drawer which shows the name of the email it is Filed from and includes a link to the email. Refer to Filing Email Attachments.
Save Attachments Separately "Off"
- When Save Attachments Separately is set to "Off", attachments in incoming emails need to be manually saved, from Outlook or from FYI. If attachments are not filed separately inside FYI, they still exist inside the email and can be accessed from the Attachments sections in the drawer of the filed email.
Note: If attachments have not been manually saved and filed in FYI (and so they are still in the email) there can be repercussions if the user leaves the practice. When the Microsoft 365 account is terminated, you cannot then access the attachments. The emails will need to be exported to access the attachments which will then need to imported back into FYI.
Include Client's Contacts
When Include Client's Contacts is set "On", AutoFile searches the Client's Contacts to find a match for the Client Name. If an email is sent or received from the email address of one of the Contacts that is held for a client in Xero Practice Manager, this will match on the client when an email is auto-filed. This allows emails to be filed to the client when they are sent or received to/from the client's contacts such as bookkeepers, advisers, etc.
Email AutoFile - Exclusions
On the Exclusion tab, click Add Exclusion and enter the email address or domain for any specific emails or domains you need to exclude from the auto-filing.
Click the Remove link to remove an exclusion.
Below is a list of example exclusions that practices want to add in their settings: