Once a client has been archived, it will not be included in the Client search when creating new documents.
Displaying Archived Clients
- Display the Clients list on the Clients workspace
- Click the Archived button to enable this.
The Clients list displays and includes archived clients which display "archived" next to the Client Name. You can open an archived client from the Clients list to see the details and access any documents that are stored for that Client.
Refer also Saving Documents to Archived Clients.
Unmatched and Archived Clients in Migration
When you begin your trial with FYI and your client list is migrated, this does not bring in any of your archived clients. However, when you import your documents (from your historical document store) if there are any documents related to archived clients in Xero Practice Manager, these will be imported but will not match to a client in FYI. The FYI import will create these unmatched clients as Unmatched Clients in FYI and the documents are stored under unmatched client names.
Also, if any Clients in Xero Practice Manager do not match your nominated folder structure for FYI, the clients and documents are imported under the unmatched client names that are created in FYI by the import function. Refer to Resolving Unmatched Clients.
Unmatched clients are only visible when searching the archived client list in FYI. If required, Unmatched clients can be left as archived clients. When the Archived button is enabled the Clients list includes unmatched client which display Unmatched next to the Client Name.
The name of an archived client can be changed in the Client - Summary tab (refer to Client Summary). This can be useful when clients are imported as part of the migration and they have been imported as Client Codes instead of names.
Refer also to the FAQ Duplication of archived Client with the same name as an active Client
Archiving Clients that are Part of a Client Group
If you need to archive a client that is part of a Client Group
- First disconnect it from the group in Xero Practice Manager.
- Sync this change to FYI.
- Then archive the client and sync again.
If you have archived the client before disconnecting it from the group, the details can not be synchronised with FYI including the fact they have been removed from a group. It will therefore still show as part of the group in FYI. You will need to:
- Unarchive the client and disconnect the client from the group in Xero Practice Manager.
- Sync this change to FY.
- Check that the client has been disconnected from the group in FYI (you may need to wait overnight) (you may need to wait overnight to allow the full sync to process).
- Then archive the client and, when the sync has processed, it will show as archived in FYI and not part of the group.
Archived Clients and Syncing with FYI
At the time of your FYI trial creation:
- FYI will bring in only your active Xero Practice Manager clients.
- Any archived clients will not synchronise with FYI when you create your trial.
If you need to bring any archived clients into FYI -
1) First re-activate the client in Xero Practice Manager.
2) Waiting for at least 24 hours for the client to sync to FYI.
3) Re-archive the client in Xero Practice Manager and after the sync, the client will show as archived in FYI.
Following your trial creation:
- Any client that is archived in Xero Practice Manager, will be picked up by FYI and marked as archived in FYI.