You can use the power of OneDrive to share your practice's OneDrive with specific clients, any of their contacts or to guest users. This is useful for clients with which you work on a frequent basis. It gives the client access to all the documents in the Client - Collaborate list so they can see a record of all documents that have been sent. This is not obligatory and there is no need to share folders if you want to only use the Client - Collaborate tab internally.
When the OneDrive folder is shared, sending an individual document (with the Share function) will still notify that person that a new document has been sent. Refer to Sending Documents via OneDrive - Share. Note that sharing documents with a client does not automatically give the recipient access to the Shared folder. Giving a user access to the Shared folder is a separate function as described below.
Sharing the OneDrive folder with the Client
Note: Only an FYI administrator can share the OneDrive folder with the client.
- Display the Client - Collaborate tab for the relevant client.
- Click Sharing Settings.
Initially, the OneDrive folder for the client is not shared with any other users. Adding at least one user creates a shared folder in your OneDrive account for the first time and releases the shared folder so it is accessible to the client.
- Click the Give user access button to add a user.
- In the Select a contact or enter email address to give access, use the drop-down to select or enter the user to share the folder with.
By default, the email address of the client is displayed.
If the client has any Contacts in Xero Practice Manager, these display in the drop-down. You can select any of these contacts.
- The selected user displays.
- You can click Give user access and add additional users to share the folder at the same time with more than one client, contact or guest.
- You can select additional users from the drop-down list if relevant.
- You can also enter the email address of a guest user (see below).
You can also share the folder with additional people at a later time.
- When ready to share, click Save.
The Create Email displays with a standard email to send to let the client know the folder has been shared with them. The recipients of the email are set as all the email addresses you have selected.
The email will send the recipient(s) a link to the shared folder and also to the Upload folder (refer to Sharing the Upload Folder with the Client).
- Make any changes as required to the email, select if you want to save it as a "Draft in FYI", "Draft in Outlook" or "Send Immediately".
- Click Create to create the email. If you have selected "Draft in FYI" it displays in the editor, or if you have selected "Draft in Outlook" it is added to the FYI - Drafts folder in your Outlook and you can then send the email in the usual way.
This sends an email to the selected user(s) to advise them they have shared folder access. The link can also be copied and sent manually at any time if the link needs to be resent (refer to Resending the Link below).
Sharing the OneDrive folder with additional Users
You can select additional email addresses at a later time in the same way if additional people need access to the client's folder. The could be any of the contacts for the client that show in the drop-list or to a guest and the selected user is set as the recipient of the email that is sent.
Sharing the OneDrive folder with a Guest User
You can also share the folder with a guest.
- In the Sharing Settings, click Give user access.
- Type the email address.
- Click Grant ..... access
Client Receives Email and Opens Shared Folder
When the client, their contact or a guest user receives the email, they click on the link in the email to access the shared folder.
Note: If the client does not receive the email, emails from OneDrive are sometimes seen as spam. Ask the client to check their spam or junk folder and to mark the email so it is not spam/junk in the future. The verification code that the client requests from Microsoft to access the folder may also be sent to their spam/junk. Refer also to Collaborate using OneDrive - Errors clients may receive when accessing secure links.
The following steps are a function of Microsoft. If needed, the recipient will be prompted to login to their Microsoft 365 account.
When the client clicks the link, a prompt displays to verify the email.
The recipient enters their email address and clicks Next.
An email is sent to that email address with a verification code.
- The recipient opens the email to see the verification code.
- The recipient enters the verification code that is sent and clicks Verify.
Note: By checkmarking Keep me signed in, the recipient will be able to access the link to the shared OneDrive folder in the future without having to verify again.
The Shared OneDrive folder displays as follows.
The person who has been granted access to the shared folder can save the link and use it in the future to see what has been shared.
When displaying the documents that have been shared, the client will also see the Upload folder.
Note: To access the Upload folder, the client must initially click the link in the email. This is a requirement of Microsoft. Once they have accessed the Upload folder, it will then be available to upload documents to. Refer to Sharing the Upload Folder with the Client.
Resending the Link
If the client loses their link to the shared folder, you can resend this by copying the link to your clipboard from the Sharing Settings.
- On the Collaborate tab for the relevant client, click Sharing Settings.
- Click Share Link.
This copies the link to your clipboard.
Note: The Share Link is only available if the folder has already been shared with the client.
- You can then paste this, for example to an email, and send it directly to the person.
You can set up a practice Template used to create the email when resending the link. The Email Template (as well as the Word and Excel Templates) includes the merge field Shared Folder Link and Upload Folder Link which can be used to include the link to the shared folders. Refer also to Sharing the Upload Folder with the Client.
Note: To use these links, any existing shared folders (prior to the release of 22 August 2020) will need to have the clients added and re-added to re-save the links so they can be used with the Shared Folder Link merge field.
Removing Access to the Shared Folder
To remove the user's access to the shared client folder, this needs to be done from your OneDrive by someone who has access to administer your practice's OneDrive.
- Go to your practice's OneDrive folder.
- Go to FYI - Clients and display the client name to remove access for.
- Right-click over the client name to display the menu.
- Select Manage Access.
- Under the Access section, click the edit icon for the relevant person, select Stop Sharing and confirm this.
Once access has been removed, if the person tries to use the link, they receive a message "Sorry, you don't have access".
Sharing the Folder for the Client Group
If you need to share all the clients within the Client group, this is done by sharing each client in the group individually.