The Collaborate function also give clients access to the Upload folder within the shared OneDrive folder.
The Upload folder provides an alternate way for clients to send documents to the practice instead of sending documents by email. For example clients can upload documents such as Tax Receipts. Also if you are doing bookkeeping services for the client, Upload provides a way for your clients to send source documents and information.
Using the OneDrive folder is functionality of Microsoft.
A client can only access the Upload folder if:
- They have been given access to the shared folder from the Sharing Settings in the Client - Collaborate tab.
- The client has verified their access to the shared folder.
- The client has also verified their access to the Upload folder.
Refer to Sharing the OneDrive Folder with the Client.
Sharing the Upload Folder with Users who are not Microsoft 365 Users
You can share the Upload folders with users who are not Microsoft 365 Users (for example, to a .gmail email address). The users will still be able to access the folders, open and upload documents but there may be a slightly difference experience to when the user has a full Microsoft 365 account.
User Accesses the Shared Folders and Upload Folder
Once a client has access to the Shared folders, they will also see the Upload folder.
Note: To allow them to upload files, they will need to have first clicked the link to the Upload folder in the email that you send them (and verify access if prompted).
From the Shared folder, a client can then open the Upload folder and it displays as follows.
The client can then drag files to the Upload folder, or use the Upload function to upload selected files or folders.
Note: There is a 500MB limit per file that can be added to the Upload folder.
Uploaded Documents sent to FYI
- When a client adds files to the Upload shared OneDrive folder they are automatically imported to FYI and then deleted from the Upload folder.
Note: The sync from OneDrive to FYI is performed every 10 minutes.
- The Source field in the documents in FYI shows as "Client Upload". You can include this column in a documents list to see documents that a client has uploaded.
- Where relevant, the imported documents from the Upload folder are auto-filed.
- Document imported from the Upload folder cannot be auto-filed, they display in the In Tray of the OneDrive admin account as set up when your practice's OneDrive was linked and shared (refer to Link and Share your Practice's OneDrive Account). It is recommended that the In Tray for this user is shared with other members of the practice so they can file the uploaded documents.
Re-sending a Link to the Upload folder
If the client loses their link to the Upload shared folder, an FYI administrator or a user who is in a User Group that has Administer Share Settings enabled, can resend this by copying the link to your clipboard from the Sharing Settings.
To send a client a link to the Upload folder:
- On the Collaborate tab for the relevant client, click Sharing Settings.
- Click Upload Link.
This copies the link to your clipboard.
Note: The Upload Link is only available if the folder has already been shared with the client.
- Paste the link into an email and send it directly to the person.
When the client opens this link, and verifies if prompted, the Upload folder displays directly so they can upload data to it.
The email template that is set up for your practice for the email used when initially sending the links can also be used to resend the link by creating an email, selecting the client and selecting the relevant email template. This will add the links to the Shared and Upload folders that are relevant for that client. Refer to Setting up the Email Template for Shared Folders Invitation.
To remove the client's access to the Shared folder, to the Upload folder and to documents that were directly shared with users, this needs to be done from your OneDrive by someone who has access to administer your practice's OneDrive. Refer to Removing Access to the Shared Folder and Upload Folder.