The client name and client details in FYI are maintained via your practice management software. Any changes are synced to FYI.
Client Management in FYI is a Beta release. For practices that are part of the Beta release of Client Management, refer to Client Edit - Beta. This article is only available if you are part of the Beta release.
Any changes to the client name are synced from your practice management software. This includes if a name is changed completely or if there is a change such as the capitalisation used in the name (such as if JOE SMITH is changed to Joe Smith). All documents for the client will then be shown under the new client name. Each client has a unique URL used to link the client to the document and this is not displayed in FYI and cannot be changed in your practice management software.
Note: For details on when the synchronisation across from your practice management software happens refer to Synchronising Clients, Staff, Jobs, Time, Tax Returns with Xero Practice Manager, Synchronising Clients, Users, Jobs and Tax Returns with GreatSoft and Integration with Generic Practice Management Software.
If you need the change to take effect immediately in FYI, you can do a manual synchronise.
Refer to Running a Manual Sync with Xero Practice Manager and Additional Notes on Syncing and Running a Manual Sync with GreatSoft and Additional Notes on Syncing.