The AutoArchive Documents function automatically archives the client's documents when the client is archived in Xero Practice Manager. AutoArchive also allows specific documents to be archived using Bulk Update, for example, all documents for a specific Year category can be archived after the required retention period has passed.
The archived documents are removed from the general views, such as the "All" view, but can still be accessed by selecting the separate "Archived" view in documents lists.
The "Archived" view is available in the main Documents list and also in the Client - Documents tab.
When the AutoArchive function is enabled for your practice this will also automatically archive the documents for clients that already have a Status of "Archived".
Important Note: The AutoArchive of documents runs overnight. So the archived documents will be in the Archived view in documents lists from the following morning.
Enabling AutoArchive of Client Documents
An FYI administrator can enable this from Practice Settings - Admin - Settings by checkmarking AutoArchive Documents. Refer to Managing Practice Settings.
When the AutoArchive Documents setting is enabled:
- Once the AutoArchive Documents setting is enabled, all documents for clients that already have a Status of "Archived" are automatically archived retrospectively.
- When a client is archived in Xero Practice Manager, once the client has synced to FYI and the Status of the client is set as "Archived" in FYI, this will automatically archive all the documents for that client. Refer also to Archived Clients.
The documents are set with a filing Status of "Archived" and can be displayed in the Documents lists by selecting the "Archived" view.
Using Bulk Update to Archive Documents
When the AutoArchive Documents setting is enabled in your Practice Settings, you can archive documents using Bulk Update and the Bulk Update includes an additional Filing status of "Archived".
This allows you to archive documents for active clients and can be used, for example, to archive all documents for a specific Year category after the required retention period has passed. To do this, in the documents list, filter on the relevant Year category, select all the documents and use Bulk Update to set the Filing status as "Archived". Refer also to Bulk Updating of Filing Details and Bulk Update.
Note: The maximum number of documents that the "Archived" Filing status can be applied to is still 10,000 in the same way as when using Bulk Update for any other filing details. If needed, apply additional filters so that fewer than 10,000 documents can be selected at one time.
The documents that have been set as Archived are removed from the "All" view in the documents list and can be accessed from the documents "Archived" view.