The documents and share folders have been shared with a client and then the client name has been changed. A second folder has been created with the new name which only the OneDrive admin account has access to.
There is no way for OneDrive to know the client name has changed. When the client clicked on the Share link or the Upload link after the name change, OneDrive has created a second folder inside OneDrive. There are therefore two folders, one with the original name and one with the new name.
If documents have already been shared with client after the name has changed:
- Using OneDrive online, using the Move to function, move the documents manually from the folder with the new client name to the folder with the old client name. The client folders are sub-folder under the top level FYI - Clients.
- If there are any documents in the Uploads folder under the new client name, these must also be moved to the Uploads folder under the old client name.
- When all documents have been moved, Delete the new client name folders.
- Using the Rename function, rename the old folder to be the new client name
The result is that all existing share and document links will still work and any new shares will go to the correctly named OneDrive folder.